Lent-Indentifying With Christ’s Suffering

Lenten season is the time when we especially identify with the sufferings of Jesus.  During Lent we walk the way of the cross, we share in his rejection when the religious leaders and others turned from him, rejected him, and plotted his death.  Lent is a time for repentance and renewal, a time to fall at the feet of Jesus and admit our sinfulness and our need of him.  Lent is a time to confess, and cry “Lord have mercy on me, a sinner!”  Lent is a time for humility and repentance, a time to get on our knees and get right with God.
-Robert Weber  

Lord, wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Let me hear joy and gladness…
hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities, 
create in me a clean heart, O God,
and put a new and right spirit within me.
-Psalms 51:7b, 8a, 9-10

Leave a comment